Victory is Mine!

March 30, 2019: SOAP #3404:  Judges 8; Psalm 42; 1Corinthians 15

Scripture:  1Corinthians (NIV) 15:55 “Where, O death, is your victory? Where, O death, is your sting?” 56 The sting of death is sin, and the power of sin is the law. 57 But thanks be to God! He gives us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ.

Observation:   God does not tell me how to get the victory.  God does not help me get the victory.  God GIVES me the victory!   If I had won the victory, it would be proper to give some of the glory to me.  But I did not win the victory.  It was given to me through my relationship with Jesus.  It is His victory that I enjoy.  So the glory ALL goes to Him!

The life of Jesus in me is not a test to discover if the life of Jesus can overcome sin in the flesh.  That issue was settled long ago!  Jesus has already lived victoriously over sin.  Jesus has already been tempted in every way that I am tempted.  His life within me is greater than any temptation I have, do, or will face!

Application:  The flesh does not like to consider itself weak.  My flesh sometimes thinks it is strong enough to gain victory.  It is easy for the flesh to become proud of its accomplishments.  It is for me to considered myself dead to sin and alive to Christ.  Here is truth: “I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me. The life I live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.”  Galatians 2: 20 (NIV)

Prayer:  Holy Spirit, You know how much I need this in my life.  Continually remind me that the life I am now living has its source in Jesus and not in the world around me. Amen

Pastor Leon
Making friends for time and eternity!