Ministry Support

June 14, 2018: SOAP #3115: 1Kings 15; 2Chronicles 13,14; Philippians 4

Scripture:  Philippians (NIV) 4:10 I rejoice greatly in the Lord that at last you have renewed your concern for me. Indeed, you have been concerned, but you had no opportunity to show it. 11 I am not saying this because I am in need, for I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances. 12 I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want.

Observation:   Paul was looking to the Lord for His support.  He was content with whatever the Lord would supply, or wherever the Lord would have him.

Paul wants the greatest reward for those who have supported him, so he does not want his need to be the motivation for their support.  There is no pressure from Paul to entice gifts for himself. If they give, it should be in response to the leading of the Lord, in response to a desire put there by the Holy Spirit.

Application:   Carrying the financial responsibility for a ministry can be a heavy burden.  If it is my vision, the financial support is my responsibility.  But if it is the Lord’s vision, the financial support is His responsibility!  What a pleasure—to receive an assignment from the Lord, knowing that the need for any financial support is His responsibility.

God has an endless supply of whatever is needed.  If He does not have it, He can make it!   Often, I find that my obedience in the past opened the door of opportunity in the present.  After all, sowing seeds in one season prepares for a harvest in a later season.

I should never stop sowing seeds as I do not know what provision will be needed in the coming seasons.

Prayer:   Heavenly Father, you are the Master of Finances.  I trust You to reveal your plan for my life and ministry.  And I trust your plan for provision.   Amen

Pastor Leon
Making friends for time and eternity!

Leave a comment