Living as though it is true

June 10, 2018: SOAP #3111: Song of Solomon 5-8; Philippians 1

Scripture:  Philippians (NIV) 1:27 Whatever happens, conduct yourselves in a manner worthy of the gospel of Christ. Then, whether I come and see you or only hear about you in my absence, I will know that you stand firm in one spirit, contending as one man for the faith of the gospel

Observation:   From the context, I believe Paul is referring to whatever might happen to himself.  Paul is writing from prison and is not sure if he will be released or executed.  They should not let whatever happens to Paul, or to themselves stop them from heeding his council.

If they will conduct themselves in a manner that speaks well of the gospel, then the reports that Paul will receive in person or through a messenger, will always reassure him that they are standing steadfast and in unity against all enemies of the gospel.

Application:   In every circumstance, in all troubles, in great joy or sorrow, gain or loss, I should always conduct myself in a manner that speaks well of the good news that Christ Jesus came to earth to die for my sins and that He rose from the dead, and ascended to heaven where He is preparing a place for me and He will return for me soon!  That is truth, and I should live as though it is true!

Prayer:    Holy Spirit, help me live a life worthy of the fact that my sins are forgiven and that you are always with me.  Amen

Pastor Leon
Making friends for time and eternity!

Leave a comment