Seeds to Sow

Pastor Leon’s SOAP:  Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer
October 01, 2022: SOAP #4685: Zechariah 10-12; Psalm 126; Luke 14

SCRIPTURE:  Psalm (NIV) 126:4 Restore our fortunes, O LORD, like streams in the Negev. 5 Those who sow in tears will reap with songs of joy. 6 He who goes out weeping, carrying seed to sow, will return with songs of joy, carrying sheaves with him.

OBSERVATION:  Seeds are small and often appear insignificant, but they contain a promise for the future. They contain resurrection power as they must first die/be planted before the new life springs forth. 

God has provided seeds to eat and seeds to sow.  Our future will be affected by what we do with the “seeds to sow.”

Eating the “seeds to sow” brings an end to the blessing they contain.  Planting them will result in future reaping with songs of joy. 

APPLICATION: Today I need to keep my eyes open to opportunity of sowing seeds.  I need to be faithful in the little things, lending a helping hand, speaking a comforting word, giving money or something I possess.  It is not the size of the seed; it is the power of the life in the seed.  I must serve and give “in Jesus name.”

I must be generous sowing seeds of faith, confidence, and encouragement in the lives of my family, especially my spouse and children. 

PRAYER:   Lord, you have given me the SOAPs, like small “seeds to sow.”  Holy Spirit, plant them in the fertile ground of some reader’s life.   Amen.

Pastor Leon
Making friends for time and eternity!   
On Facebook:  Today’s SOAP from Pastor Leon

Leave a comment