Enjoying Favor

October 14, 2021: SOAP #4333:  Nehemiah 11-12; Psalm 1; Acts 3

SCRIPTURE:  Psalm (NIV) 1:3 And he shall be like a tree planted by the rivers of water, that bringeth forth his fruit in his season; his leaf also shall not wither; and whatsoever he doeth shall prosper.

OBSERVATION:  Who would not like to have this said about them?  Who would not like to be compared to a well-watered tree that is always fruitful and is highly successful? But this description is not for everyone.  This person is living in the favor of God. 

Verse one says that this person does not follow the advice given by people who have no faith.  This person does not hang around with planners of evil.  This person does not sit around all day bad mouthing everything they see. 

That is what this person does not do.  So, what does he do?  Verse two says “But his delight is in the law of the LORD; and on his law he meditates day and night.”

APPLICATION:  God lives in me.  He has promised to never leave me.  So, what I do inside me is more important to God than what I do on the outside.  (Oh yes, He cares about the outside too.) 

If I want God to feel at home living in me, then I need to make the inside of me a place where He is comfortable.  He dwells inside me with all my thoughts and attitudes.  May the attitudes and activities of my life make the atmosphere of my heart like the atmosphere of heaven. 

As I delight in Him and His word, He delights in me and my words.  He enjoys my favor, be it ever so small; and I enjoy His favor, be it ever so great! 

PRAYER: Lord, I am blessed to live in your favor.  As you favor me and bring so much joy to my heart, may I favor you and bring joy to your heart.  Amen.

Pastor Leon
Making friends for time and eternity!