Backing up my words

April 20, 2021: SOAP #4156:  1Samuel 23; Psalm 31,54; Matthew 7

SCRIPTURE:  Matthew (NIV) 7:28 When Jesus had finished saying these things, the crowds were amazed at his teaching, 29 because he taught as one who had authority, and not as their teachers of the law.

OBSERVATION: The multitudes were not amazed that Jesus was a teacher, for they had many teachers. They were astonished at his authority. The scribes often referred back to traditions and the writings of their fathers.

Jesus spoke the truth, defined the truth, applied the truth, and explained the truth.  And He spoke like he had personal knowledge of what the scriptures meant.  We would expect the Living Word to know the Written Word.  Jesus also backed up the spoken word with healings and miracles.  He spoke the truth about the Kingdom of God; then He demonstrated the authority of that same Kingdom!

APPLICATION: My actions give authority to my words. I must live my life in such a way that people believe what I say.

PRAYER:  Lord let Your words become my words and help me demonstrate my words by my actions. Amen.

Pastor Leon
Making friends for time and eternity! 

Leave a comment