An Expression of Faith

August 1, 2018: SOAP #3163   Isaiah 65-66; Psalm 62; John 3

Scripture:  Psalm (NIV) 62:5 Find rest, O my soul, in God alone; my hope comes from him. 6 He alone is my rock and my salvation; he is my fortress, I shall not be shaken.

Observation:   The idea of “finding rest” is to be silent and still.  The King James Version uses the word “wait.”  Waiting, like obedience, is an exercise of faith.  When I am waiting, I am expecting/anticipating someone or something.

Some people make it hard to wait.  They made promises in the past but did not do their part.  For some people it is easy to wait.  You know they will do what they promised.  They have a history of always coming through with what they say.

Application:  Everything I know about God makes me know that it is always best to wait on God.  As it is logical to obey God, it is also logical to wait on God.  I wait in hope for He is faithful to keep His word.  Sometimes I wait on God for there is nothing I can do.  I wait on God for my salvation, for I know I cannot save myself.

Waiting can give opportunity for complaining and allowing doubt to control my thoughts.  Or waiting can be an opportunity to praise and worship God.  I have time to read the Bible and get to better know the One for Whom I am waiting.  Waiting is preparation time for the next part of God’s plan!

Prayer:   Heavenly Father, help me be a person for whom it is easy to wait.  May those waiting on me have faith that I will keep my commitment and do my part.  In other words, help me be like you!   Amen

Pastor Leon
Making friends for time and eternity!