Truth & Facts

July 22, 2017: SOAP #2788: Isaiah 36-37; Psalm 76; 1Peter 1

Scripture:  Isaiah (NIV) 37:15 And Hezekiah prayed to the LORD: 16 “O LORD Almighty, God of Israel, enthroned between the cherubim, you alone are God over all the kingdoms of the earth. You have made heaven and earth. 17 Give ear, O LORD, and hear; open your eyes, O LORD, and see; listen to all the words Sennacherib has sent to insult the living God.
18 “It is true, O LORD, that the Assyrian kings have laid waste all these peoples and their lands. 19 They have thrown their gods into the fire and destroyed them, for they were not gods but only wood and stone, fashioned by human hands.
20 Now, O LORD our God, deliver us from his hand, so that all kingdoms on earth may know that you alone, O LORD, are God.”

Observation:  There is truth that is much greater than facts.  For example, the truth/law of applied aerodynamics is greater that the fact of gravity.  In the Lord’s prayer (Luke 11) Jesus taught us to pray truth about the Father before praying the facts about our needs and sins. The truth in verse 16 above is much greater than the facts in 18 and 19.  Verse 36 shows how much greater the God of verse 16 is than the Assyrian kings of verses 18 and 19.

Application:  When I know the truth that Jesus is a forgiver, it is right for me to confess the fact that I have sinned.  When I know that Jesus is a healer, it is ok to confess that I am sick.  I do not need to fear making a negative confession when I know the One Who is the Truth.

Prayer:   Holy Spirit, teach me eternal truth from the Word.  Teach me the truth that drives away the fear of any facts that I may face.  Amen

Pastor Leon
Making friends for time and eternity!

Leave a comment